- To maximize the relevance of the collection.
Removing irrelevant or dated items from the collection helps students and faculty find pertinent materials for their courses. It is important for the Libraries to maintain a collection that is relevant to John F. Kennedy University’s current curriculum.
- To maintain the collection in acceptable physical condition.
The overall health, appearance and usability of the collection are improved by removing moldy, damaged or worn items.
- To make the best possible use of library shelf space.
Shelf space is limited, and as the Libraries are continually acquiring new materials, decisions must be made regarding where to house both existing and new items. Shelf space for new materials must be created by removing outdated, unused, or damaged items.
Does the item support the university’s current curriculum? Selectors should regularly consult with faculty and continually review course schedules, syllabi, and book lists to determine curricular relevance.
Titles that contain obsolete or inaccurate information may be candidates for withdrawal provided they are not considered classics in the field (Books for College Libraries, and Amazon reviews may be helpful in making this determination).
Condition alone is not sufficient reason to remove an item from the collection. In some cases it may be possible to mend, re-bind, or replace an item that is in poor condition, but remains relevant to our collection. The Libraries’ collection has unique material, particularly in the field of Holistic Studies, and every effort should be made to preserve these items.
Multiple copies or editions of titles may be withdrawn to minimize redundancy of holdings. In the case of serials, print publications may be considered for cancellation if they are available electronically, but this will be done only after careful analysis of users’ needs.
Materials used infrequently (only once or twice in the previous five years) may be deselected. Check Innovative item records to determine frequency of circulation and the last checkout date.
Circulation Desk staff will forward any damaged, moldy, or severely worn items to the appropriate Librarian.
Periodically, each Librarian will review the collection in her/his subject area to determine if a large scale weeding project should be undertaken. Faculty input will be sought, once candidates for deselection are identified.
Librarians will assess serial subscriptions and electronic resources for relevance annually.