Print Resources Collection Policy
The purpose of the Collection Development Policy is to aid Librarians in selecting library materials and communicating library policy to faculty, students and staff of the University as well as to the larger community.
Guided by John F. Kennedy University's vision to be the learning environment of choice for those seeking a transformative and life-enhancing educational experience, the John F Kennedy University Libraries: Provide a broad range of information resources and services that enhance learning and discovery; Ensure that services are customer-focused and meet the needs of the University community now and in the future by anticipating and responding to relevant trends; Recognize that our staff is our most valuable resource; Create an environment that serves the needs of our diverse learning community; and Join with others in collaborative partnerships.
Primary clientele are the students, faculty, and staff of John F. Kennedy University.
The Libraries of John F. Kennedy University support the American Library Association's Bill Of Rights, Freedom To Read Statement, and the American Film and Video Association's Freedom to View Statement. The Libraries follow the "Intellectual Freedom Principles or Academic Libraries." For this policy, the Libraries have adopted sections of the Library Bill of Rights applicable to collection principles set forth in the Library Bill of Rights form an indispensable framework for building collections, services, and policies that serve the entire academic community.
A strong intellectual freedom perspective is critical to the development of academic library collections and services that dispassionately meet the education and research needs of a college or university community. The purpose of this statement is to outline how and where intellectual freedom principles fit into an academic library setting, thereby raising consciousness of the intellectual freedom context within which academic librarians work. The following principles should be reflected in all relevant library policy documents.
The development of library collections in support of an institution's instruction and research programs should transcend the personal values of the selector. In the interests of research and learning, it is essential that collections contain materials representing a variety of perspectives on subjects that may be considered controversial. Preservation and replacement efforts should ensure that balance in library materials is maintained and that controversial materials are not removed from the collections through theft, loss, mutilation, or normal wear and tear. There should be alertness to efforts by special interest groups to bias a collection through systematic theft or mutilation.
Any individual or group questioning the appropriateness of materials within the collection will be referred to the University Librarian. A service philosophy should be promoted that affords equal access to information for all in the academic community with no discrimination on the basis of race, values, gender, sexual orientation, cultural or ethnic background, physical or learning disability, economic status, religious beliefs, or views. The Libraries acquire materials that represent differing opinions and without censorship in regard to controversial issues.
The primary subject areas collected are those that support the instructional and research activities of the School of Education and Liberal Arts; the School of Holistic Studies; the School of Management; and the Graduate School of Professional Psychology. The Law Library supports the curriculum of the Law School and the Legal Studies program.
Each Librarian selects materials in one or more subject areas in accordance with the curricular and research needs of the University. Faculty members are encouraged to suggest appropriate materials and collaborate with Librarians in building a useful, relevant collection. Suggestions for purchase may be submitted using the electronic form available on the Libraries' website. These requests are forwarded to the appropriate subject selector. Ultimate responsibility for the development and maintenance of the Libraries' collection rests with the University Librarian.
Primarily English language materials are collected.
In support of the Institutional emphasis on diversity, works are collected that reflect the history and experience of people of all races, ethnicities, religions, genders, sexual orientations, socio-economic groups and individuals with disabilities.
Emphasis is on current materials. Classic works by key figures are collected to support curricular and research needs.
Specialized Acquisitions Considerations
(Please see guidelines regarding the acceptance of gifts)
Donations that do not meet criteria as stated in the gifts policy will be sold, donated or recycled.
Librarians are responsible for choosing reference materials that meet the basic curricular, research and information needs of the University community. Reference resources of all types and formats are selected using the criteria established for the circulating collection.
Electronic resources are collected to support the basic instructional, research and information needs of the University. These include, but are not limited to, electronic databases, electronic journals, electronic reference materials, and when appropriate, e-books. Traditional selection criteria apply to electronic resources. However, due to the unique nature of electronic resources, special criteria are used. See Collection Development Policy for Electronic Resources.
Monographs are acquired, with first priority given to supporting the curricular and research needs of the University community.
The Libraries acquire serial titles, with first priority given to supporting the curricular and research needs of the University community. Electronic access is the preferred format for serials when available.
Current print newspapers are acquired on a highly selective basis, with emphasis placed on local newspapers. Access to national titles is provided electronically.
Course textbooks are acquired only if they are considered to be definitive sources in a subject area. Exceptions are considered at the request of an instructor.
Dissertations, Theses, Final Projects
The Libraries strive to collect dissertations, theses, final projects and capstone projects when available and appropriate.
Audio-visual materials are acquired with priority given to media required for repeated and regular course-related use. Faculty members are encouraged to preview videos before submitting purchase requests to the Libraries. Digital media are preferred when available.
Juvenile Literature is not collected, as these materials are readily available at Bay Area public libraries. Exceptions are made when titles are requested by faculty members to support specific courses. Critical works and scholarly reviews of children's literature are collected.
Weeding or deselection, replacement, multiple copies, preservation, and conservation are all important aspects of collection maintenance and evaluation. Librarians are responsible for maintaining the collections in their assigned subject areas.
Weeding or Deselection
The Libraries' emphasis on current materials requires that the collection be refreshed on an ongoing basis. Limited space necessitates the weeding of outdated, irrelevant, and underused materials. Faculty members are encouraged to participate in the weeding process to ensure that seminal works are not discarded. (See Deselection Guidelines)
Materials that are missing, lost or withdrawn are not automatically replaced. Potential replacements are evaluated using the same criteria for selection of new items. Usage data and curricular relevance are factored into the replacement decision.
Anticipated use and curricular relevance at both the main campus and the branches determine the number of copies purchased.
Preservation and Conservation
The Libraries endeavor to prevent, eliminate, or retard deterioration of library materials, as well as to improve their condition or to change their format as necessary in order to preserve the intellectual content.
Resource Sharing and Cooperative Development
The JFK University Libraries maintain cooperative relationships which provide users with direct access to other library collections in California, as well as interlibrary loan services.
This policy is based in part on: Florida Atlantic University Libraries. (2004). FAU Libraries Collection Development Policy. Retrieved April 26, 2007, from Florida Atlantic University http://www.library.fau.edu/policies/cd_e-resources.htm