Electronic SourcesPrint SourcesVideo, Audio & Misc.
This is the "APA Style, 6th Ed." page of the "APA Style Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
JFKU Libraries Contact Us Directory News John F Kennedy University National University System

APA Style Guide  

Last Updated: Apr 15, 2013 URL: http://libguides.jfku.edu/apa Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

APA Style, 6th Ed. Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

APA Manual, 6th ed.

Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (6th ed.). (2010). Washington, DC: American Psychological Association. Available at the libraries.

cover of ALA publications manual

     

    What's a DOI?

    Some database articles may include a DOI, a Digital Object Identifier, a unique number that is assigned to an entity that is available on a digital network. The DOI allows networks to keep track of objects such as electronic journal articles, even when the objects are moved from one Internet location to another.  

    When an article contains a DOI, APA style allows for the inclusion of the DOI at the end of your citation. Here's an example of an APA citation that uses a DOI:

    Wainberg, M. (2009, March 17). Criminalizing HIV transmission may be a mistake. CMAJ: Canadian Medical Association Journal, 180(6), 688-688. doi:10.1503/cmaj.090249

     

    APA Style Guide to Electronic References, 6th ed.

    Recently-published update to the 6th edition APA Manual. Includes expanded examples for electronic sources.

    License Restrictions: Non-commercial use only. Each authorized JFK user may download a single personal copy.

    Click the image below to access.

    Citation Generators on the Web

    There are a number of websites that will help you format your citations in the various styles. You should always double-check the results you get, as the results are good places to start but not necessarily correct.

     

    APA Style Printable Guides

    Useful Websites

    • OWL at Purdue APA Guide
      Excellent APA style site.
    • APA Style
      This online guide to using APA style is published by the American Psychological Association, and provides useful tutorials on using APA style.
     

    Database Citations

    Many of our online databases will help you format your citations. You should always double-check the results you get, as the citations often need some clean-up. Here are instructions for a few of our most popular databases.

    EBSCO databases (e.g., Psychology Database Collection) - When you click the title of an article, there are icons at the top of the page for "Print," "E-mail" "Save as File," and "Cite this article"; each of these choices gives you an option to include a citation in the MLA, APA, or Chicago style.

    ProQuest databases (e.g., ProQuest Research Library) - When you have displayed an article, click the "Cite this" link at the top.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip